October 3rd, 2017 | Photos

DSC_1012 (1) Photos by Patrick Do

Robyn Hitchcock, accompanied by Yo La Tengo, performed his beloved debut album Black Snake Diamond Role at The Regent Theatre. In true Hitchcock fashion, he would add his own little hysterical commentary on life which sometimes did not have anything to do with the following song being played. Hitchcock introduced the band members of Yo La Tengo by saying they are “combined the same astrological lineup of The Beatles if you got rid of John and Paul and got and extra George and added Jimmy Page.”

Matching his Stratocaster, Hitchcock came out wearing a black and white polka dotted button up for the second portion of the evening. This set was dedicated entirely to playing covers like “Run Run Run” by The Velvet Underground and “Lucifer Sam” by Pink Floyd. Ira Kaplan of Yo La Tengo handled all of the guitar solos and more often than not slapping his guitar to make more obscure sounds that echoed punk with psychedelic rock. Diehards were ecstatic to hear songs from his former band The Soft Boys.


Robyn Hitchcock definitely knows his fans by continuing to play and make music nostalgic to the seventies. There were fans who came prepared with Robyn Hitchcock t-shirts, records, and posters to be signed. At the end of the show, he was kind enough to meet his fans by the merch table where he would sign all of the records and pose for photos.

Setlist (via
Set 1: Black Snake Diamond Role
The Man Who Invented Himself (with Yo La Tengo)
Brenda’s Iron Sledge (with Yo La Tengo)
Do Policemen Sing? (with Yo La Tengo)
The Lizard (with Yo La Tengo)
Meat (with Yo La Tengo)
Acid Bird (with Yo La Tengo)
I Watch the Cars (with Yo La Tengo)
Out of the Picture (with Yo La Tengo)
City of Shame (with Yo La Tengo)
Love (with Yo La Tengo)

Set 2:
Wey Wey Hep Uh Hole (The Soft Boys song) (with Yo La Tengo)
It’s A Mystic Trip (with Yo La Tengo)
Give Me a Spanner Ralph (with Yo La Tengo)
Ye Sleeping Knights of Jesus (with Yo La Tengo)
Winter Love (with Yo La Tengo)
Going Down to Liverpool (Katrina and the Waves cover) (with Yo La Tengo)
Let There Be More Darkness (with Yo La Tengo)
Run Run Run(The Velvet Underground cover) (with Yo La Tengo)
Kingdom of Love(The Soft Boys song) (with Yo La Tengo)
He’s a Reptile(The Soft Boys song) (with Yo La Tengo)

Tom Courtenay (Yo La Tengo cover)(with Yo La Tengo)
Lucifer Sam (Pink Floyd cover) (with Yo La Tengo)
Airscape (Robyn Hitchcock and The Egyptians song) (with Yo La Tengo)